0 comment

Guest Post by Meera Watts – Dosha Types: Which is Yours?

Dosha Types: Which is Yours?

If you have been practicing yoga without understanding your dosha type, you’re missing out on a key element.

You see, your dosha serves as the blueprint for your health. Learning what your dosha is can help you understand and get a clearer idea of your inherent strengths and weaknesses. It can help you know what you should do to improve yourself, too.

Now, before we get to your Dosha type, let’s get to know what it is first.

What is Dosha?

Dosha refers to your life energies. As a person, you have a unique combination of the three doshas in your body. That unique combination reflects not just your health but your personality and traits as well.

Why is defining your dosha that important?

For one, knowing what your dosha is can help you achieve a vibrant state of health since it can help you define the lifestyle that supports your unique energy and nature. It can also help you achieve balance by giving you clues on what adjustments you need to do regain control of things.

How to Know Your Dosha Type

In general, the most common way of determining your dosha type is by taking tests online. Just do a quick search and you’ll find tons of options on the internet.

If you aren’t fond of quizzes, that’s fine. Taking a closer look at your physical characteristics can help you define your dosha type, too.

Let’s discuss each type one by one:


Vata is responsible for the elimination of wastes and control of thoughts. It’s considered as the leader of the doshas.

Vata is dry, hard, cold and rough. It is also described as light, sharp, and mobile.

Naturally, in a person where Vata is predominant, those characteristics will totally stand out. You’ll know if you are governed by this dosha if you have the following traits:

  • Brown or black hair color
  • Low weight or trouble gaining weight
  • Black or brown eyes
  • Thin and angular chin
  • Sunken cheeks
  • Small hips
  • Small chest and belly
  • Dry and brittle hair
  • Thin gums
  • Typically gets constipated and forms gas
  • Active mentally and physically


Pitta is in charge of energy production, metabolism, and digestion. It’s responsible for transformation, too. Because of that, people who are dominated by pitta have a fiery nature physically and mentally.

You have a pitta dosha if you have the following characteristics:

  • Medium weight
  • Gains and loses weight easily
  • Has freckles
  • Has red, blonde or gray hair
  • Has flat and smooth cheeks
  • With a strong appetite
  • Has moderate belly
  • Has an oval belly button


Kapha controls weight, lubrication of your lungs and joints, and growth. It’s also responsible for your reproductive tissues, muscles, fat, and bone marrow.

If you have an increased kapha, you’re likely to experience excess mucus, sluggish bowel movements, and white tongue coat.

In terms of physical traits, you’re likely to have:

  • A large build
  • Heavier side
  • Easily gains weight
  • Difficulty losing weight
  • Oily skin
  • Dark black or dark brown hair
  • Big and round cheeks
  • Large and defined belly

In Conclusion

Knowing your dosha puts you one step closer to living a healthy and fulfilling life. It will help you address your body’s specific needs to you can protect your body and add more years to your life.

Take note, however, that it doesn’t end with knowing your dosha. If you want to experience those things, you need to make changes in your life.

Dosha types

Meera Watts is a yoga teacher, entrepreneur and mom. Her writing on yoga and holistic health has appeared in Elephant Journal, CureJoy, FunTimesGuide, OMtimes and others. She’s also the founder and owner of Siddhi Yoga International, a yoga teacher training school based in Singapore. Siddhi Yoga runs intensive, residential trainings in India (Rishikesh, Goa and Dharamshala), Indonesia (Bali)






FB Page:

Posted by

Yoga and meditation teacher, writer, reader, cat-momma, environmental warrior, friend

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.